Shoulda Woulda Coulda; Don’t Won’t Haven’t

Tell us about something you know you should do . . . but don’t.

via Daily Prompt: Shoulda Woulda Coulda.

To list something that I should do, but don’t… Isn’t that telling on yourself?

There’s probably a lot of things I should be doing, and of course I’m not. There’s the “being more attentive to family and loved ones”, “Play fairly in Words With Friends”, “Return neighbor’s tools when borrowed”, and the list goes on. However, since I’m not ready to discuss, much less admit to, these deficiencies — let me tell you about this one instead.

Have you ever gone to the store, especially one dealing in electronics or appliances, been looking for an item?  You’ve narrowed down the choice between two or three products. In the end you’ve narrowed it down two items that are nearly identical, one’s a little bit cheaper, but the other one has a mail-in making it less expensive after the rebate. I then purchase the rebated item and bring it home.

What I should do once I am home is sit down right then and fill out the rebate form, attach all the required documentation and put it in the mailbox. However, what I do is nothing of the sort.  I staple the receipt to the rebate form and put it on the desk, afterall I have 30 days to submit it. I then go “play” with or setup what ever neat gizmo, toy or gadget I bought. A month goes by, then two, then I notice this paper sitting on the shelf, it has probably been moved two or three times since the original placement. Picking it up, it is of course the, now expired, rebate.

I know that manufacturers are playing the odds by offering rebates. Betting that people like me will buy their product because of the rebate, and then never submit it. How many times have you made a purchase that included a rebate that you didn’t claim?

Some other tattle tales you might want to check out:

Till next time, have a great day!

5 thoughts on “Shoulda Woulda Coulda; Don’t Won’t Haven’t

  1. djmatticus says:

    Tattle-tales: love it. I considered replying with “I plead the fifth” and leaving it at that…

    Haven’t ever failed to turn in the rebate form for something I’ve purchased. Sometimes I’ve just eaked in before the deadline, but I’ve always managed to get it out on time.

  2. Bbots says:

    haha I thought I was being smart, not returning those rebate slips, always paranoid it would put me on a list or give them access to my secured things, but you say they really do give you money back? Get out! LOL! Thanks for the link :-)

  3. […] Shoulda Woulda Coulda; Don’t Won’t Haven’t « Jumbalya of thoughts and musings […]

  4. […] Shoulda Woulda Coulda; Don’t Won’t Haven’t « Jumbalya of thoughts and musings […]

  5. […] Get Physical! « doctorandmrso 43. Daily Prompt: Shoulda Woulda Coulda | Moonlight Reflections 44. Shoulda Woulda Coulda; Don’t Won’t Haven’t « Jumbalya of thoughts and musings 45. THE FLEETING AND THE PERMANENT | aapatawaran 46. Ghost girl talking | Purnimodo 47. Perpetual […]

Leave a Reply

